Wednesday, April 9

Defence personnel Who are Fighting in Lok sabha election 2014

1.Col Devinder Sehrawat:

APP Candidate from South Delhi 
20 years in Army .after getting retired from armed forces, started to fight for the farmers’ struggle in getting their compensation for their lands. He often voices his opinions for the farmers through articles in news papers and magazines.An IIM-Ahmedabad alumnus,Devinder Sehrawat is a multi-faceted personality. Through each of his roles as soldier, journalist, social activist, and farmers’ leader, he has been serving the nation with dedication. His patriotic spirit was nurtured in childhood, born as he was into a family of patriots, with his father and grandparents also having served in the armed forces.

2.General(R)  V K Singh,PVSM, AVSM, YSM, ADC:
BJP Candidate from Ghaziabad
Singh was commissioned into the 2nd Battalion of The Rajput Regiment (Kali Chindi) on 14 June 1970. He then commanded the same unit when it was positioned along the Line Of Control with Pakistan.

General Vijay Kumar Singh PVSM, AVSM, YSM, ADC is the 26th Chief of Army Staff. A highly decorated Officer, he is the 33rd International Fellow and the first Indian Armed Forces officer to be inducted into the United States Army War College International Fellows Hall of Fame. He graduated from the Defence Services Staff College as a Honours graduate of the United States Army Infantry School, topped the Rangers Course at Fort Benning and was inducted into the United States Army War College International Fellows Hall of Fame; the first Indian Armed Forces officer to do so.

Awards -

  • General Singh was awarded the Ati Vishisht Seva Medal (AVSM) for distinguished service while commanding a counter-insurgency force.
  • Honorary Aide-De-Camp to the President of India
  • Param Vishisht Seva Medal (PVSM)
  • Yudh Seva Medal for his distinguished Service in Operation Parakram
  • Ranger Tab
3.Wing Commander(Rtd) Abdul Nasir Hanfee ,Veer Chakra
AAP Candidate from Jabalpur

He is a retd. Vir Chakra Prapt Wing Commender. He is originally from Mhow (Indore). On 23 September 1987, then Flight Lieutenant Abdul Nasir Hanfee was launched in Siachen area to assist the Army. Taking off in a short time, he undertook the much needed Army support missions in the area. Flying from sunrise to sunset in marginal weather conditions with frequent snow blizzards and whiteout conditions and frequent adversary shelling of the posts, he achieved 14 to 15 sorties a day for three continuous days, with total disregard to his personal safety. He single-handedly managed to provide the much-needed logistic support for two days which was a big morale booster for our troops in Siachen Glacier area. fighting in a hostile terrain.

In a restricted area where the guns were required to fire continuously to meet the adversary's challenge, he also showed exceptional professionalism by evacuating 38 casualties in a single day from the area with undue disregard to his personal safety.
Thus, Flight Lieutenant Abdul Nasir Hanfee exhibited high degree of professional skill and courage in the face of the adversary. For this mission he was awarded the Vir Chakra. Awrads: Vir chakra Previously he has taken part in Jaiprakash Narayan movement & nirbhaya andolan.
He believes in De-criminilization of Politics, Parties under RTI, Right to Reject, Right to Recall, Fund Transparency are few things which are the need of the hour.

4.Colonel Rajyawardhan Singh Rathore,AVSM
BJP Candidate From Jaipur Rural
At 2002 Commonwealth Games, Rathore won a Gold Medal and set a new Commonwealth Games Record of 192 targets out of 200, which still stands. Rathore, went on to successfully defend his Commonwealth Champion title by winning the Gold Medal at the Melbourne Commonwealth Games in 2006.  He won Gold Medals in two World Shooting Champions at Sydney in 2004 and Cairo in 2006.

In 2006, Rathore won a Bronze Medal in the World Championship in Spain.Rathore is accredited for winning the Asian Clay Target Gold Medal for four times in a row from 2003 to 2006.

  • 2004-2005 – awarded Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna (Highest Sporting Honour of India).
  • 2003-2004 – Arjuna Award
  • Rathore is a recipient of the Padma Shri
  • Ati vishisht Seva Medal (AVSM), military award for exceptional service, presented by the President of India on behalf of the Government of India.
  • 1990 -Sword of Honour (For the Best All Round Officer Cadet at the Indian Military Academy).
  • 1990 – the Sikh Regiment Gold Medal (For the Best Sportsmen at the Indian Military Academy).
5.Major Dr(Rtd) Surendra Poonia ,VSM (Vishisht  Seva Medal)
AAP Candidate from Sikar,Rajasthan
He was inspired by the Jan Lokpal Andolan and retired from the army to dedicate himself to the service of the nation.
The youngest recipient of the President’s award - Vishisht Seva Medal in 2013 and a qualified doctor. He was involved in counter-insurgency operations in Kashmir and had first hand exposure to the happenings in Kashmir.
He won 3 consecutive gold medals in Powerlifting in the World Medical Games in Croatia 2010, Spain 2011 and Turkey 2012. Won 5 Gold, 8 Silver and 3 Bronze medals in the last three years in international championships in varied events – Powerlifting, Javelin, Discus and 400/800/10,000 meters running.
Major (R) Dr. Poonia Served the elite 10 Para Commando, 2 Para Commando and 5 Para Airborne Special Forces in Kashmir, Siachen & Peace Keeping mission Congo.

6.Lt General Raj Kadyan 
AAP Candidate from Jhunjhunu,Rajasthan
Retired as Lt. General (deputy chief of Army staff) from Indian army. He has extensively worked for welfare of Ex servicemen. Formed an organization ISEM for ex servicemen. Fought a battle for one rank one pension for ex servicesmen. Stays in Gurgaon. Jhunjhunu has large number of ex servicemen mostly from Jat Community. There might be some resistance from volunteers, he being an outsider but he has higher winability.

7.Col P S Bhatnagar:
AAP candidate from Rajsamand,Rajasthan 
An Infantry Commando -served in Indian Army for almost three decades across the length and breadth of our country ,mostly on Pakistan & China Borders. A keen environmentalist and a social worker , special awards from our late PM -Smt Indira Gandhi and Shri Dhanik Lal Mandal –erstwhile Governor of Punjab & Haryana for pioneering work in the field of environment.

8.Colonel Gadkari
AAP Candidate from Ratnagiri
Colonel Gadkari- Retired Colonel, 44 years of service. Member of the 18 Grenadiers which won Tiger Hill, has been NCC Group Commander who has managed schools and colleges in this constituency

9.Retd. Col Bharat Singh 
AAP Candidate from Balia,Uttar Pradesh

10.Capt Amarinder Singh 
Congress Candidate from Amritsar
He served as a captain in Indian Army. He joined Indian Army in June 1963 and resigned in early 1965. He rejoined the Army again as hostilities broke out with Pakistan. He again resigned after the war was over in early 1966.

11.Jaswant Singh 
Independent Candidate from Barmer
Jaswant SIngh was in Army in late 1960s ,alumnus of NDA,Khadakwasla . He has left BJP and will fight as an Independent Candidate ,although he is experienced politician in NDA regime.

Add more or Correct me If i'm wrong .. PLZ comment below.

1 comment:

  1. Dear Smruti, Your efforts are appreciable. Keep it up